Iron Man 3 posts 2nd biggest open with 175 million: DreamWorks wins Kung Fu Panda case; Warner Bros. predicted to beat DreamWorks in summer box office battle

Iron Man takes the world by storm! I’m Realistic Fish Head. Disney and Paramount pulled out the stops as Iron Man 3 posts a 175 million win, the 2nd best record and the 7th best open behind Harry Potter and the Twilight Saga. Worried by a drop in 3D sales and disapproval of new scenes in Chinese theaters, Disney has shrugged off those worries. Gene Scallop on how Tony Stark managed to continue his battle amid in the movie that someone has framed him in order to defend his innocence.

 

Gene:

Disney is reporting that Iron Man 3 opened with a strong $68.312 million on Friday, including $15.6 million from Thursday night previews (9pm onward). That marks a 30 percent increase over the $52.4 million opening day of Iron Man 2 three years ago, while sitting about 14 percent below the first day take of The Avengers (a record $80.8 million). Note that neither of those those films opened wide before midnight, while Iron Man 2 also wasn’t released in 3D.

All-time, this gives Iron Man 3 the seventh best opening day behind The Twilight Saga: Eclipse’s $68.5 million and ahead of The Hunger Games’ $67.3 million. The relatively unknown nature of Thursday’s 9pm shows could skew historical opening day-to-weekend ratios, but for now, we’re projecting a $169 million debut weekend.

In holdover news, Pain and Gain dropped 69 percent from last Friday to $2.35 million yesterday. With a $28.7 million domestic haul after eight days, the film is on track for a $7.2 million sophomore frame.

Universal’s Oblivion sank 67 percent from last Friday to $1.7 million yesterday. Competition from and the loss of IMAX screens to this weekend’s big competition played a major role in the decline. Through 15 days of release, Oblivion has tallied $76 million domestically. BoxOffice is projecting a $5.8 million weekend.

Meanwhile, Warner Bros.’ 42 was less fazed and dropped just 39 percent Friday-to-Friday. With another $1.79 million in the bank yesterday, 42 has amassed an impressive $73.9 million haul in 22 days. The film is on pace for a $6.3 million frame.

Lastly, The Big Wedding dropped 54 percent from opening day to $1.2 million on Friday. We’re projecting a $3.9 million weekend.

To recap iron Man 3 zooms 1st, Pain and Gain gets overhauled in 2nd, so does 42 in 3rd, Oblivion sinks 4th as a 69% drop as Iron Man 3 takes IMAX away from them, and The Big Wedding rings its bells in 5th.

 

On March 7, Paramount won their case against the courts for No Country For Old Men. This week, DreamWorks wins their case for their Kung Fu Panda movies referring Po, the Dragon Warrior as a spiritual Kung Fu fighter. Another case dropped again in the courts wasn’t it Perch?

 

Perch Perkins (via The Hollywood Reporter)- A California appeals court upheld a verdict in favor of DreamWorks Animation after a jury found that the studio didn’t steal the idea to create its mega-successful Kung Fu Panda movies.

Terence Dunn, a self-described “writer-producer-teacher-philosopher” who was CEO of a company called Zen-Bear Inc., sued in June 2010 for breach of an implied contract. At a trial in the summer of 2011, he told a jury that he made a four-to-five minute pitch to a DreamWorks executive in November 2001, and followed it up with a phone call over his “proposal for Zen-Bear, the Kung Fu Panda.”

He wanted compensation for the studio’s alleged use of his idea, but a jury wasn’t swayed. On appeal, Dunn challenged the verdict on the basis that the trial judge had erred with improper jury instructions over the test for determining use of an idea.

On Tuesday, California’s Second Appellate District weighed in with some wisdom on the nature of ideas. Here’s the full ruling.

Kung Fu Panda came out in 2008 and starred the voice of Jack Black. It went on to gross more than $630 million worldwide. A successful sequel also was released.

Dunn said that he had created a “Zen-Bear” in the early 1990s and hired an illustrator “to design [his] concept of a martial arts panda bear.”

He says he spoke for months with DreamWorks executive Lance Young about his idea, and alleged that he was told in 2002 that DWA already had a “martial arts panda project.” He says his final conversation with DreamWorks happened with another DreamWorks executive named Michael Lachance.

Lachance oversaw the Kung Fu Panda project after DreamWorks CEO Jeffrey Katzenberg suggested in 2000 at a roundtable meeting that the company “take a look at pandas as a possible subject for a movie.”

According to the legal documents, Lachance drafted a story outline entitled “Kung Fu Panda,” dated Nov. 27, 2001, one week after Dunn claims he pitched his ideas to Young at the holiday party.

Before a verdict happened in the case, a judge instructed the jury, “For Plaintiff to recover for Breach of Implied Contract in this case, he must prove that the movie Kung Fu Panda is substantially similar to the movie he pitched to DreamWorks. Substantial similarity is determined by making a comparison of the two works based on the opinion of the average individual.”

But the judge declined Dunn’s invitation to add, “Differences between the movie and the pitch do not necessarily mean they are not substantially similar. You may find that differences between the movie and Plaintiff’s pitch were deliberately contrived to disguise the fact that Plaintiff’s ideas were being used.”

A California appeals court says that the failure to deliver this guidance wasn’t an error.

“The first sentence unnecessarily highlights an obvious point — Dunn need not prove his pitch was identical to the film Kung Fu Panda in order to establish his cause of action,” says the decision. “The second sentence of this proposed instruction amount[s] to an argument to the jury in the guise of a statement of law, and the trial court properly refused to include it in its instructions to the jury.”

Dunn also contended that the verdict should be overthrown because of how the judge responded to a question from the jury.

The jury asked, “If an idea is expressed by Dunn to DreamWorks, incorporated in an intermediate work and abandoned before the movie is made, does this constitute use?”

The judge responded, “No.”

Despite Dunn’s argument that the jury was confused and required a different answer with further instructions, the ruling says it was a correct answer.

“The jury asked about abandonment of Dunn’s idea, not differences between Dunn’s idea and the film,” adds the appeals court. “The question does not indicate the jury was seeking clarification on the substantial similarity standard.”

Speaking of DreamWorks, it doesn’t look good for them. According to an analyst, The Warner’s will take out the movie studio as summer box office champ this year. As you may remember from past reports, both companies were exposed by their weakness as well as being held hostage by the 2011 box office slump. Will the Warner’s have the best market value over both DreamWorks and Paramount Danny?

 

Danny Angelfish (via The Hollywood Reporter)- Time Warner is in position to benefit most from the summer box-office season, while DreamWorks Animation faces the most challenges, according to a Wall Street analyst who released his annual prognostication on Friday.

Doug Creutz of Cowen and Co. picked his “Dirty Dozen” list of movies that he figures will account for about 70 percent or more of this summer’s total domestic box office. Topping his list is Iron Man 3 from Disney/Marvel, though the studio with the most titles on the list is Warner Bros.

Creutz estimates Iron Man 3 will top out at $350 million domestically. His pick for the second biggest film of the summer is Monsters University, from Disney/Pixar, which he figures will earn $275 million.

Next on his list is a tie at $250 million between Star Trek Into Darkness from Paramount and Despicable Me 2 from Universal.

The rest of his Dirty Dozen shapes up like so: The Hangover Part III from Warner’s ($225 million); Man of Steel from Warner’s ($220 million); Fast & Furious 6 from Universal ($220 million); The Wolverine from Fox ($190 million); Turbo from DWA ($171 million); a tie between The Great Gatsby and Pacific Rim , both from Warner’s ($150 million); and Grown Ups 2 from Universal ($125 million).

Those 12 films will make about $2.556 billion domestically, while the entirety of the box office this summer will amount to about $3.651 billion, Creutz predicts. Last year, the Top 12 performing films accounted for nearly 80 percent of the total domestic box office during the summer season.

Creutz says that if he’s wrong about this year’s Dirty Dozen, it’s probably because one or more of several other films he names will sneak into the Top 12 and knock out one of his picks. Among the titles most likely to do that, are: After Earth or White House Down from Sony; Paramount’s World War Z; Disney’s The Lone Ranger; Red 2 from Lionsgate or Universal’s R.I.P.D.

The titles he thinks are most at risk of not performing as well as he has predicted, are: The Wolverine, Pacific Rim and Turbo.

Titles having only a “reasonable chance” of cracking the Top 12 this summer are Epic, The Heat and The Internship from Fox; and Sony’s This is the End and Smurfs 2.

Creutz acknowledges that he has more confidence in several titles than do other experts, starting with The Great Gatsby. “This appears to be one of the few films this summer not directed at kids or young men, and as such, we think it can be effective counter-programming appealing to women and adult audiences,” he writes.

And one title where Creutz is on the very low side of estimates is Man of Steel. “Anyone remember Sucker Punch?” Creutz writes. “Zach Snyder’s very distinctive visual style worked well for 300, however his subsequent films have received very mixed reviews and many critics compare his works to big-screen video games, which could restrict the audience to young males.”

Creutz writes that Warner’s “is the best positioned of all the major studios to have a solid summer at the box office.”

Of DWA, though, he writes: “The competitive situation facing Turbo has kept us on the sidelines regarding shares, as we are very concerned it could be an odd man out this summer.”

There’s no slump here at the Penguins tally as 867 fans make sure that the upcoming summer box office battle will help DreamWorks overpower its enemies between now and March 2015 as our flightless heroes prepare for one last mission on the big screen.

 

This just in! During the week, Cartoon Network and Nick’s sister stations Boomerang and Nicktoons air of their counterpart’s channels last episodes such as Johnny Test and The Troop to make room for new additions to the spring schedule. This is Realistic Fish Head reminding you, Keep looking and watching for late breaking news as it develops!

  1. #1 by play games2win on June 2, 2013 - 5:10 am

    Thanks for your marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it,
    you happen to be a great author.I will make sure to
    bookmark your blog and may come back later on.

    I want to encourage you continue your great posts, have a nice
    evening!
    My spouse and I absolutely love your blog
    and find almost all of your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking
    for. can you offer guest writers to write content in your
    case? I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write concerning here. Again, awesome website!
    My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a different web address and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to looking over your web page repeatedly.
    I love what you guys are up too. This sort of clever work and reporting! Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to
    our blogroll.
    Hi I am so grateful I found your blog page, I really found you by mistake, while I was searching on Google for something else, Anyways I am here now
    and would just like to say thanks a lot for a fantastic post and a all round enjoyable
    blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have bookmarked
    it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the superb job.

    Appreciating the persistence you put into your site and in depth information you offer.
    It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed material.
    Excellent read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to
    my Google account.
    Hello! I’ve been reading your site for some time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Humble Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the great job!
    I am really enjoying the theme/design of your web site. Do you ever run into any browser compatibility issues? A few of my blog visitors have complained about my site not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera. Do you have any solutions to help fix this problem?
    I’m curious to find out what blog platform you happen to be
    using? I’m having some small security problems with my latest site and I would like to find something more secure. Do you have any recommendations?
    Hmm it looks like your site ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum
    it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything.
    Do you have any tips for first-time blog writers?
    I’d definitely appreciate it.
    Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this site.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s challenging to
    get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual
    appearance. I must say you’ve done a amazing job with this. In addition, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Firefox. Superb Blog!
    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your weblog? My blog is in the very same area of interest as yours and my visitors would truly benefit from some of the information you present here. Please let me know if this alright with you. Cheers!
    Howdy would you mind letting me know which web host you’re
    using? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you recommend a good internet hosting provider at a reasonable price? Many thanks, I appreciate it!
    Very good blog you have here but I was wondering if you knew of any user discussion forums that cover the same topics discussed in this article? I’d really love to be
    a part of online community where I can get comments
    from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest.
    If you have any recommendations, please let me know.
    Cheers!
    Hello there! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to
    give a quick shout out and say I truly enjoy reading your blog
    posts. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with
    the same topics? Thank you so much!
    Do you have a spam problem on this blog; I
    also am a blogger, and I was wanting to know your situation; we
    have developed some nice practices and we are looking
    to swap techniques with others, be sure to shoot me an email if interested.

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your site. You have some really good posts and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d
    love to write some material for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.

    Please send me an email if interested. Cheers!
    Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is valuable and all. However think about if you added some great graphics or videos to give your
    posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and video clips, this website could definitely be one of the best in its field.
    Good blog!
    Fascinating blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A theme like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog jump out.
    Please let me know where you got your design. With thanks
    Hey would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with? I’m looking to start my own blog in the near future but
    I’m having a difficult time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S Sorry for being off-topic but I had to ask!
    Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your post
    seem to be running off the screen in Internet explorer. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to
    let you know. The design and style look great though!
    Hope you get the issue solved soon. Many thanks
    With havin so much written content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My site has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either written myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my permission. Do you know any methods to help prevent content from being ripped off? I’d really appreciate it.

    Have you ever thought about creating an e-book or guest authoring
    on other websites? I have a blog centered on the same information you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information.

    I know my visitors would value your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free
    to shoot me an e-mail.
    Howdy! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with
    us so I came to take a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and will be
    tweeting this to my followers! Excellent blog and wonderful
    style and design.
    Awesome blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for
    a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m completely confused .. Any ideas? Appreciate it!
    My coder is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs. But he’s tryiong none the less.
    I’ve been using Movable-type on a number of websites for about a year and am concerned about switching to another platform. I have heard very good things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress posts into it? Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated!
    Does your site have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to send you an e-mail. I’ve got some recommendations
    for your blog you might be interested in hearing.
    Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it
    expand over time.
    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this brilliant blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your
    RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and will talk about this website with my
    Facebook group. Chat soon!
    Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the information you present here and can’t
    wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI,
    just 3G .. Anyways, fantastic blog!
    Hey! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a blog post or vice-versa?
    My blog discusses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other.

    If you are interested feel free to send me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from
    you! Awesome blog by the way!
    Currently it sounds like WordPress is the preferred
    blogging platform out there right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?
    Wonderful post however , I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this subject? I’d be very
    grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Kudos!

    Hello! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you
    knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one?
    Thanks a lot!
    When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now
    each time a comment is added I get three e-mails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Bless you!
    Hi there! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection
    of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in
    the same niche. Your blog provided us useful information to work on.

    You have done a outstanding job!
    Greetings! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog
    platform are you using for this site? I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers
    and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.
    Howdy! This post could not be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my previous room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this write-up to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!
    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point. You clearly know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your blog when you could be giving us something informative to read?
    Today, I went to the beach with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is totally off topic but I had to tell someone!
    Yesterday, while I was at work, my sister stole my iPad and tested to see if it can survive a 40 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is completely off topic but I had to share it with someone!
    I was wondering if you ever considered changing the layout of your site? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or two pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?
    Howdy, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam feedback? If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or anything you can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any support
    is very much appreciated.
    This design is incredible! You definitely know how to keep a reader entertained.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well,
    almost…HaHa!) Great job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!
    I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a very easy on
    the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to
    come here and visit more often. Did you hire out
    a developer to create your theme? Exceptional work!

    Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.

    Anyhow, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

    Howdy! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook group?

    There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thank you
    Hey, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your blog site in Opera, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, awesome blog!
    Sweet blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News. Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem
    to get there! Cheers
    Hey there! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog.
    Is it very hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any points or suggestions? Appreciate it
    Hey there! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?
    My web site looks weird when browsing from my iphone.
    I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to fix this problem. If you have any suggestions, please share. Many thanks!
    I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later on.
    All the best
    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for
    you? Plz reply as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thank you
    Incredible! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It’s
    on a totally different topic but it has pretty much the same page layout and design.
    Wonderful choice of colors!
    Hi just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of the images aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I think
    its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the same results.
    Hey there are using WordPress for your blog platform? I’m new to the
    blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own. Do you require any html coding expertise to make your own blog? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    Howdy this is kind of of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding expertise
    so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience.
    Any help would be enormously appreciated!

    Hey! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing several weeks of hard work due to no data backup.
    Do you have any methods to protect against hackers?

    Hey there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m definitely
    enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.

    Hello there! Do you know if they make any plugins
    to protect against hackers? I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on.

    Any recommendations?
    Howdy! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with SEO?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good
    success. If you know of any please share. Thanks!

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was wondering what all is needed to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100%
    positive. Any suggestions or advice would
    be greatly appreciated. Appreciate it
    Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the images on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.
    I’m not sure exactly why but this website is loading incredibly slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a issue on my end? I’ll check back later on and see if the problem
    still exists.
    Hey there! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 3gs! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the fantastic work!
    Wow that was strange. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyways, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

